Music Soothes Even the Savage Beast

Total Distance Pedaled to Date: 390km
Vertical Rise Pedaled Over the Last 2 Days: approx 3km
Number of Sasquatch Sightings: Still 0

Tonight I’m camped out at Bromley Rock Provincial Park.

image

It’s a small, quiet park with very basic amenities. No showers, no electricity and no running water, which means no RV’s, so I’ve got the whole joint pretty much to myself. There’s also no cell service, so I’ll upload this post in the morning when I hit a town.

Tonight’s festivities consisted of some bike maintenance: Pumped up the tires and lubed the chain. Next, I scooped a pot of water out if the river and boiled it up for some supper. Then I relaxed in front of the fire for a while before jumping into the tent just as a rain shower blew in. Dreadfully exciting for a Saturday night, eh?

Friday was (according to my guidbook) the hardest day of my entire continental journey.

Hey, where does this road go?

image

It goes up!!

And up, and up, and up. All the nice smells of the previous days were replaced with the stench of burning brake pads from the big trucks making the descent into Hope. I left my campsite in Hope and pedaled uphill continously for 60km. I did however stop halfway up for an impromptu lunch.

image

Finally, I reached the top at Allison Pass.

image

Where I then proceeded to set my camera timer, run out under the sign and pretend to celebrate. YAY!!!
It did feel good to make it to the top.

The biggest problem with these endless hills is keeping my mind in a positive spot. I’ve been telling myself these last couple days that I’m not tough enough to complete this ride. That my body is going to breakdown and I’ll have to go home with my tail between my legs. It’s like I’ve got 2 little guys sitting on my shoulders. On one side is Tony “Banana Hands” Robins, who is trying to motivationaly inspire me up the hills. And on the other side is Gunnery Sergeant Hartman, who’s screaming “Come on Bicknell! You move like old people fuck!”. This is where music comes in. I usually never ride and wear earphones. In the city it’s just too dangerous. But out here I’ve resigned to the fact that if I’m gonna get run down by a logging truck, it’s going to happen whether I’m listening to music or not. And honestly, if I’m going out like that, I’d rather not hear the logging truck coming. And music really does help with distracting your mind. My second day out of Victoria, before I put on the earphones, I caught myself signing George Michael’s “Faith”. Of course I only know about 6 words, so the rest of the song ended up sounding like some kind of hooked on eubonics comedy routine.

Anyhow, enough of the serious stuff. Check out the size of this beaver!

image

Damn thing could destroy an entire town. Well, apparently it’s not a beaver, it’s supposed to be a ground squirrel. ‘Course I didn’t know it at the time. I was just thinking, “Man, that’s one big ass beaver”.

And this was rather interesting too.

image

That’s about it. That’s all I’ve got. I could show you more photos of mountains and landscapes; it truly is beautiful out here. But the thing about a blog is, if you’re not careful, it’ll quickly turn into the modern version of a 1970’s slide show where Aunt So-and-So would gather everyone around the living room and show slides of her trip to the beach. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

2 thoughts on “Music Soothes Even the Savage Beast

  1. I’m glad you have some music to distract you from the burn that must be in your legs. Don’t be too hard on yourself and know that in three days you’ve already climbed more mountains than most of us will in a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

